EducationNews Hub

Government Sector Medical Colleges in KPK

A Detailed Blog on Public Sector Medical Collages in KPK

Spread the love

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KPK) has total ten public/Government sector medical colleges that are recognized by Pakistan Medical and Dental Council (PMDC). In addition to that there are nine private sector medical colleges as well. Entrance test for public sector medical colleges is conducted by KPK ETEA medical test. Whereas Clearing ETEA is not a piece of cake, it really needs a lot of hard work. Public sector medical colleges have very limited seats.

Government Sector Medical Colleges in KPK

This article enlists all the basic information including ‘location, application procedure, fee structure, ranking’ of all the PMDC recognized public sector medical colleges.

  1. Khyber Medical college, Peshawar:

Khyber medical college is located in the main city of Peshawar near university road. It is one of the most highly ranked medical college of KPK and has the highest merit. It is considered as mother institute for rest of the medical and dental colleges across the province. Khyber medical university enrolls 250 students every year.

Official Link:

  1. Khyber Girls Medical college, Peshawar:

Khyber Girls medical college is located near PDA building Hayatabad and is on 2nd rank after Khyber medical college. KGMC is only public sector medical college which is only for girls in KPK. It came into being in May,2004 as a girls campus of KMC and was declared as an independent college in December,2005. In KGMC 100 students are enrolled yearly.

Official link:

3.Ayyub medical college, Abbottabad:

Ayyub medical college is on 3rd rank among all the public sector medical colleges of KPK. It is situated in the city of beautiful hills, Abbottabad. AMC was established in 1978. The DHQ (District Head Quarters) Hospital Abbottabad remained affiliated to Ayyub Medical college for teaching for a period of 18 years. Now all the clinical departments have been shifted to the newly constructed buildings of Ayyub teaching hospital.

Official link:

  1. Bacha Khan Medical College, Mardan:

Bacha Khan Medical college is located in the beautiful city of Mardan. BKMC is the first public sector Medical Colleges to be recognized in the first year of its establishment by PMDC in 2010. The college is also affiliated with KMU Peshawar since 2010. BKMC enrolls 50 students yearly.

Official link:

  1. Bannu Medical College, Banu:

Bannu medical college is located in the city of Bannu. BMC was established in 2006 and is being recognized by Pakistan Medical and Dental Council (PMDC) in 2011. Bannu Medical university is also affiliated with KMC. The teaching faculty of Bannu medical college includes total 80 members. BMC enrolls 100 students each session.

Official link:

  1. Gajju Khan Medical College, Swabi:

Gajju Khan Medical College is situated in the historical city Swabi. GKMC is named after the late great Pakhtun leader Gajju Khan (1490-1565). It was established in 2014 and is also affiliated with KMC. It enrolls 100 students each Anum.

Official links:

  1. Gomal Medical College, D.I.Khan:

Gomal Medical College is located in the beautiful city of Dera Ismail Khan(D.I.K). GMC is affiliated with KMC and is also registered with Pakistan Medical and Dental Council. Gomal Medical College enrolls 100 students annually. Mufti Mehmood memorial teaching hospital and DHQ teaching hospital is affiliated with GMC for clinical purposes.

Official link:

  1. Nowshera Medical College, Nowshera:

Nowshera Medical College is located in the city of Nowshera on main GT Road. It was established in 2016, It is affiliated with KMC. It is also affiliated with Qazi Hussain Ahmed Complex for clinical purposes. NMC is working under Nowshera Teaching Institute which is providing services under MTI rules.

Official link:

  1. Saidu Medical Colleges, Swat:

Saidu Medical College is situated in the beautiful valley of Swat. SMC was established in year 1998. SMC is affiliated with Khyber Medical College and is also registered with Pakistan Medical and Dental Council. SMC enrolls 100 students each year.

Official link:

  1. KIMS, Kohat:

Khyber Institute of Medical Sciences is situated mainly in Kohat. KIMS is in affiliation with Khyber Medical College (KMC). Khyber Institute of Medical Sciences is registered with Pakistan Medical and Dental Council. Each year KIMS enrolls total 50 students.

Official link:

How to Apply:

The candidates shall apply online on the portal of online KMU admission website ( and follow the steps ahead:

  • Visit and click Login. Use user name and password created during ETEA registration process. Follow on-screen Instructions to complete the process.
  • Select the category (Open Merit, Finance, FATA, minority areas)
  • Upload scanned copies of the required documents mentioned in the application form.
  • Generate fee slip online and print it. Visit any branch of the MCB and deposit
  • Login again to verify your payment details and submit application online.

Admission schedule:

Availability of application form 17-9-2019
Display of Final Merit List 23-10-2019
Institute course/ Duration Fee per Anum

Fee Structure:

Khyber Medical College Peshawer MBBS/BDS 5 years/4years 26155/-
Khyber girls medical college peshawer MBBS 5 years 16159/-
Ayub Medical College,Abbotabad MBBS/BDS 5years/4years 20000/60000/-
Bacha Khan medical college,Mardan MBBS/BDS 5years/4years 38950/-


Gajju Khan medical college, MBBS 5years 28199/-
Gomal Medical College (D.I.K.) MBBS 5years 35780/-
Nowshera Medical College MBBS 5years 47653/-
Saidu medical College, Swat MBBS 5years 40000/-

In a nutshell, all these Medical Colleges are under the umbrella and supervision of Khyber Medical University (KMU) and that itself is a part of Pakistan Medical and Dental Council (PMDC). Which is the only government institution that is responsible for all the Medical Colleges across the country.

Also Read: Top 5 Universities of KPK Imparting Best Education in the Province


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *